Committee on Distinguished Service Award

[Bylaws Section 11.035]

The five past presidents immediately preceding the immediate past president, insofar as is possible. The junior member of the committee shall be chair.

To receive recommendations for the Distinguished Service Award of the California Society of Anesthesiologists.

Letters of recommendation are to be submitted directly to the chair of this committee by the district directors of the CSA at least ninety (90) days prior to the Annual Meeting of this Society. If no recommendation(s) by district directors are received by 90 days prior to the next Annual Meeting, the committee members may then, and only then, submit nomination(s) for consideration by the committee.

The Committee shall review the recommendations submitted, paying particular attention to members who have demonstrated outstanding and meritorious service to Anesthesiology and the CSA.

Selection of a candidate shall require a 4/5 vote of the full committee. The Committee need not make a selection each year. The Committee shall be limited to one nomination at each Annual Meeting. It shall make its nomination for the Distinguished Service Award directly to the House of Delegates at the Annual Meeting.

Two-thirds secret ballot of the seated members in the House of Delegates shall be required for approval of the Committee nomination.

In the event of the death or resignation of a member of this Committee, the president shall appoint a replacement to fill the unexpired term. If possible, a past president shall be appointed.

Jeff Poage, MD


Christine Doyle, MD, FASA

Samuel Wald, MD

Karen Sibert, MD, FASA

Mark Zakowski, MD, FASA