Skip to Content

Distinguished Service Award

History of the CSA Distinguished Service Award The California Society of Anesthesiologists created a Distinguished Service Award Committee in January 1974. The award was established for recognition of distinguished and meritorious service by members of CSA. The Committee is made up of the five past presidents immediately preceding the immediate past president. Nominees are selected by the District Directors, who forward their nominations to the Committee. The Committee then decides which nominee is presented to the House of Delegates for approval. Nominees are typically members who have demonstrated outstanding and meritorious service to the Society. These services may be of civic, political, educational, clinical, or research nature. Recipients to date:

2024John Brock-Utne, MD
2023Linda Hertzberg, MD, FASA
2021Narendra Trivedi, MD, FASA 
2020Dan Cole, MD, FASA 
2019 Stan Stead, MD, MBA
2018 Michael Champeau, MD, FASA
2017Patricia Kapur, MD
2016Linda J. Mason, MD, FASA
2015William E. Barnaby, Esq.
2013Barbara Baldwin
2012David E. Willet, Esq.
2009R. Lawrence Sullivan Jr., MD
2008Benjamin Shwachman, MD
2007Jack L. Moore, MD
2006Caryl J. Guth, MD
2005J. Kent Garman, MD
2004Thomas H. Cromwell, MD
2003Stephen H. Jackson, MD
2002Thomas A. Joas, MD
2001Norman Levin, MD
1999Thomas W. Feeley, MD
1998Arthur O. McGowan, MD
1996Peter L. McDermott, MD
1994Evelyn B. Squier, CSA Assistant Executive Director
1991Norman R. Catron, CSA Executive Director
1990Douglass H. Batten, MD
1988Gerald Nudell, MD
1986Gilbert E. Kinyon, MD
1985Don R. King, MD
1984Solomon H. Statman, MD
1983James S. West, MD
1982John S. Hattox, MD
1981John R. Raymond, MD
1978William B. Neff, MD
1977M. Kathleen Belton, MD
1976Donald J. Lauber, MD
Back to Top