Skip to Content

Awards & Recognitions

CSA President’s Impact Awards

In 2023, during its 75th Anniversary, the CSA introduced the President’s Impact Awards. This initiative was developed by the CSA Membership Committee and CSA leaders, to recognize leaders throughout the CSA and the specialty.

Nominations will be solicited from the membership at the beginning of each year. The awards are presented at the CSA Annual Meeting.

The following awards are considered each year:

  • Educator of the Year – for excellence in educating colleagues, trainees, other healthcare professionals, patients, or the community
  • Physician Advocate of the Year – for outstanding leadership in legislative advocacy or practice management
  • Clinical Innovator of the Year – for creative innovation that has led to improvements in clinical care, patient safety, healthcare processes, patient experience, or outcomes
  • Rising Star – for an early career member (less than 3 years from completion of training) who has already demonstrated excellence and tremendous future career potential in one or more of the above categories: educator; physician advocate; or clinical innovation
  • In-Training Physician of the Year – for a current resident or fellow who has demonstrated excellence in one or more of the above categories: educator; physician advocate; or clinical innovation

2024 President’s Impact Awardees

    • Educator of the Year  – Betelehem Asnake, MS, MD

    • Physician Advocate of the Year – Puja Trivedi, DO

    • Clinical Innovator of the Year – Vanessa Henke, MD

    • Rising Star of the Year – Mariam Sarwary, MD

    • In-Training Physician of the Year – Jacqueline Chen, MD

FASA – Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists

The purpose of the FASA designation — Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists — is to provide a level of honor to those who “indicate a superior level of service, leadership, advocacy, and education – setting those apart from their peers.” The criteria required for earning the FASA designation demonstrates a candidate’s commitment to advancing the practice and securing the future of anesthesiology.

Meet California's FASAs

Distinguished Service Award

History of the CSA Distinguished Service Award The California Society of Anesthesiologists created a Distinguished Service Award Committee in January 1974. The award was established for recognition of distinguished and meritorious service by members of CSA.

See Awardees
Back to Top